Sunday, March 27, 2011

Major League Baseball Tickets: The 2011 Major League Baseball regular season

The 2011 Major League Baseball regular season will begin with the Brewers at the Reds, the Angels at the Royals, the Braves at the Nationals, the Tigers at the Yankees, and the Padres at the Cardinals.

The major change is the season's earlier start and finish, as recommended by the Commissioner's Special Committee for On-Field Matters. Those five games will open the season on March 31 after a shortened Spring Training, followed by 11 April 1 games. The season's final regularly scheduled games will be played on Wednesday, Sept. 28 -- all in the interest of not playing baseball into November.

"The challenges of our scheduling are considerable, but I shared the committee's desire to make the necessary adjustments to assure that postseason baseball does not extend beyond October," Commissioner Bud Selig said.